Hey there Legend! Just to bring to your notice that some links and ad banners on this page are affiliates which means that, if you choose to make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. We greatly appreciate your support!

Xbox Free Play Days October 2026: Which Games Need Game Pass?

Xbox Free Play Days October 2026: Which Games Need Game Pass?

October 10, 2026 Off

Two games need an eligible Game Pass plan, ARC Raiders does not, and four others are timed trials.

By Ibraheem Adeola

Xbox Free Play Days includes seven games from October 8 through October 11, 2026, but they do not all have the same access rules. Screamer and Family Man require an eligible Game Pass plan, ARC Raiders is open to Xbox members without Game Pass, and the other four games are timed trials.

That distinction matters before starting a large download. The eligibility details below come from Xbox’s official Free Play Days announcement.

Xbox Free Play Days eligibility at a glance

Game Who can play? Access limit stated by Xbox
Screamer Game Pass Ultimate, Premium or Essential members October 8–11 event window
Family Man Game Pass Ultimate, Premium or Essential members October 8–11 event window
ARC Raiders Xbox members; Game Pass is not required October 8–11 event window; no separate hourly cap stated
High On Life 2 All Xbox players Timed trial; duration not stated
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl All Xbox players Timed trial; duration not stated
Little Nightmares III All Xbox players Timed trial; duration not stated
Rogue Waters All Xbox players Two-hour timed trial

Xbox gives the calendar window as October 8 through October 11 but does not provide a precise expiration time in the announcement.

Which Free Play Days games require Game Pass?

Screamer and Family Man require Xbox Game Pass Ultimate, Premium or Essential. Players without one of those eligible plans should not expect access to those two games through this Free Play Days promotion. The other five offers do not carry that Game Pass requirement, although four of them are limited by trial conditions rather than offering clearly stated full-weekend access.

Can you play ARC Raiders without Game Pass?

arc raiders server slam
Image credit: Embark Studios

Yes. Xbox says ARC Raiders is available for all Xbox members to try from October 8 through October 11 and explicitly states that a Game Pass membership is not required. This is temporary access tied to the event window, not an announcement that ARC Raiders is permanently free to play. Xbox’s post does not specify a separate hourly cap for the ARC Raiders offer.

Which four games are timed trials?

High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl, Little Nightmares III and Rogue Waters are available to all Xbox players as timed trials.

Only Rogue Waters has a duration disclosed in the announcement: its trial lasts two hours. Xbox does not state equivalent hour limits for High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2 or Little Nightmares III, so players should not assume that those three use the same two-hour limit.

How to download Xbox Free Play Days games

On an Xbox console, open the Xbox Store, select the Subscriptions tab and open the Free Play Days collection. Select an eligible game there to start the installation process.

Xbox also directs players to the individual game pages on Xbox.com, which lead to the relevant Microsoft Store listings. Regional availability can differ by game, so the offer displayed on a player’s local store is the relevant one.

What happens if you buy one of the games?

Xbox says players who purchase an included game during its limited-time sale can keep the Gamerscore and achievements they earned. Availability, prices and discount percentages can vary by title and region, so a discount should not be assumed for every player or every game.

What Xbox has not confirmed

The announcement does not provide a precise local cutoff time for October 11. It also does not disclose trial durations for High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2 or Little Nightmares III.

Xbox’s post does not establish whether these offers include PC or cloud-gaming access. Players should therefore rely on the platform and eligibility information shown on their local Microsoft Store listing rather than assuming that console eligibility extends to other ways of playing.